Reclaiming Ohi:yo'- Restoring the Altered Landscape of the Beautiful River

The Seneca Nation of Indians

The Seneca people have lived between the Genesee River and Canandaigua Lake in New York State for time immemorial. Today our territories can still be found on our aboriginal lands. The Seneca Nation (Nation) has five territories: Allegany, Cattaragus, Oil Spring, Buffalo Creek, and Niagara Falls.  
These are our faces, our culture, our history. We are the Seneca people. Still today, we are Onödowá'ga. We are a resilient people who continue to follow our traditions and make new ones. On November 11, 1794 the Seneca people signed a treaty with the United States, known as The Treaty of Canandaigua (or as the Pickering Treaty of 1794), which guaranteed us our sovereignty and rights to our land. This exhibit focuses on events related to our Allegany Territory. Our Allegany Territory is a valley with steep hills that hugs the Allegheny National Forest.


This page has paths:

Contents of this path:

This page references: